Hello! In this tutorial I will show you how I do my Artwork and Implement it on-out through and with techniques and what apps I use, for/by then having finished (Digital Art) for Printing or Sharing/Copying – Selling!

First I start off with a blank page – Usually a “NotePad” which you may buy at the Dollar Store, works great for starters (As you’re going to either Scan, or take a Picture – With your Phone) of your Finished Drawing.



Here is the Simple NotePad that I use to make some of the Drawings with a Drawing (Automatic Drawing – Really fast or Slow – Different styles to it, This one is a Fast Energetic Transcription)



I Always use a Pen for my Drawings.



This one is the Sketch Book My mother got me as a Gift! I think it was at “Michaels Store – Arts and Craft Boutique” – It was called Something like that… But I find it’s a Perfect Size and All and the ink goes well on it. I make sure the pens are Ballpoint Tips, smaller is better (Depending on what you want to draw) but for precision – Small Ballpoint pen is a Good Way to Go.



We can make Easy Digital Art as/with the drawing posted above of a Fast Energetic Transcription.


When you take a Picture be sure there is no “OverShadowing” of your phone or tablet in the way of a Natural Light Source, which get’s Best Results – As the flash on your Phone or Tablet may Reflect Back in some cases, and this can cause different effects.


Experimenting with different settings is good, and also try to get a good Quality Picture “Not Blurry” but Crisp!


So, You’ll Need a Phone – Or tablet, now you probably know that every “Brand” and “Model” has their own particular Cameras with different MegaPixels and their own Integrated “Photo Editor(s)”.


In this Tutorial, I am Using a Google Huawei – Nexus 6P Cell Phone.


*The Google Photo Software Integrated in the phone is very Useful When you have an account – Youtube Account is the same / As Gmail and others, It log’s in all of your Google “Products” you could say.


It allows for album Creations and Automatic Backup in Google Photos which has Unlimited Space.


The apps I use -/ One Is called “Mirror Lab” and the other is “ToolWiz Photo” which you can find in the Playstore on your Phone or Tablet. The Play Store is Located besides the “Dropbox Icon” if you’re wondering what the Play Store Icon Looks Like.



-Here is what Mirror Lab, distort effects & Toolwiz Photos – Pro Editor look’s Like in the “Google Play Store” which on your Phone or Tablet you click on the Play Store Icon and use the Search Monocle.



And type in Mirror Lab or ToolWiz Photo First, then select the correct one.


This is Mirror Lab:



& Install – And do the same for Toolwiz Photos.



Where it says Uninstall you should see “Install” if you don’t Already have the App!


And with these, Let’s Begin!


So I take My Photo, and open it up in Google Photos App, which should look like this after you click on the Pencil Down below the drawing for “Editor Mode”.



Which will bring you to this here:



After that you can click on the third Option to the left Underneath the different filters and over the phone’s “menu Buttons” (Mainly right over the Square Menu Button), which is what we use for Cropping the picture – Which will bring you to the cropper Here:



And then you can see that I crop out the borders – Making sure there is no Borders Showing which is not a part of the Page, while centering the image as much as I can.



Then you click Done or Save, depending on what particular phone or tablet you are using.


Here I decided to add a Filter to the Cropped Picture. Which you can Access by clicking on the 1st Option Over the Phone’s “Menu Buttons” and Underneath your Picture – I chose the Filter “REEL” for this Drawing:



After Saving you should get to the second picture here:



Where you can clearly see the Pencil Icon (Second One on the bottom “Over the Phone’s “Menu Buttons”), But we’re not going to use that again…


This time we’re going to open up the Picture in ToolWiz – Photos, by Clicking on the Three Little dot’s Underneath the 1:59 over at the top right corner.


Which should bring you to this Menu:



With the option to chose “Edit in ToolWiz Photos”.


So click on it and it will bring your drawing into the app for Editing. Here Click on “Filters” where you see down Below in Orange – and click on “Prisma” top icon with a square with orange and white lines as waves in it, with the written word “Prisma” Underneath.



It will bring you to the Special Effects.



Here you see my Drawing (Already Rendered) becaused I clicked the Second Picture – Under the “Effect” writing.


This made my Drawing look like this! But there is many to choose from and Experience with different Things/Settings.


So once you’re done click on the Green Check Mark!



Now over here I decided to put some “Toning” over it! And then I’m going to touch “Gradient Map”.



It brought me here, where I can choose different colors for the Gradient Map, I picked Blue! The Third Square from left to right, under “Overlay”.


Now I already Clicked on Overlay which you seen in the Picture up above, and scrolled all the way to the other depiction “Overlay” which added an effect towards the Blue Gradient Map, which adjusted the colors on my picture – There is Multiple Different settings you can try, I only Used these ones the most – up to this point.


After you’re done click on the Green Check Mark, or if you don’t like your selection and want to go back, simply hit the back arrow.


Here Is the Overlay (Overlay):



Then click on the Green check Mark, Once you’re Done Choosing.



It brought me back to the Menu, where I will hit the Floppy Disk up in the right hand corner (TOP) and save.


It should bring you to this:



I find PNG is better “In some cases” and Hit SAVE.


There, Now We’re Done the first Part.


For the Second part we’re going to Go into Mirror Lab:



So you see the Icon up above the “Play Store” (That’s where I put Mirror Lab on my Phone’s Home Screen) – You can change where they go, but usually once you Install the App, it shows up somewheres on your Home Screen or Other Pages.


So I click on Mirror Lab:



Usually your Picture/Drawing which you just saved, from the Last part of this tutorial – Should be in the “Recent” Tile in the Mirror Lab Menu there.


So just go ahead and Click on Recent, Or if it’s not there go in Gallery and Find your Picture/Drawing!


Usually it’s set in “Camera” or “ToolWiz” Folder.


And by then it opens it up:



Here you can see on the Bottom – Multiple “Square Divisions” I usually Pick the 3×3=9 Square and it brings you up to this:



And from there you have a Wide Variety of Choices to pick down below – I usually pick “Kaleidoscope”, and then you can swoosh your finger in a pinching or The opposite way, to zoom in and out on your Drawing.


Plus if you only take one finger and slide it on the Picture, you will get different results as this here:



And from there on out, See here I poked on the Angle Tile, which allowed me to shift the angle at which the picture is set, I set it -44° and it gives on out many different possibilities – from sliding your finger on the picture itself.


About 11thousand/Million or Billion different Possibilities – You could say in a way, with this app for your drawing to appear in a different pattern.



That tile there set’s the Division Points for the fractals being mirrored. There it is set at 3.



Here it is set at 8.



Thats for the rotation of your Drawing. Here I set it at -13°.



This one here is new, They added it in an Update, It’s called “Perspective” which as you see the picture gets tilted Backwards.



When your Content with one of the configurations / Patterns, simply hit the Floppy disc up in the “Almost” corner to the right, and it will bring up that menu. Saving it in JPEG format is good because it is a more widely accepted format, on the Internet and Such. Choose your Resolution and click save.


You can do this as many times as you want… It simply brings you back to where you were before hitting the floppy disc.



For this effect, which is called “Marble” I went in the one to the right of the 3×3=9 Square, and located all the way to the right, Marble effect, and then chose a Density Level, and hit the ✓ which you see besides the floppy disc.


When you go back in Kaleidoscope, it resembles something like this here:



Which is Another good Example of a Combination in which you can use, and then press the floppy Disc, whenever you want to save a copy of a particular configuration of your Picture.



You can even set the “Aspect Ratio” in which you want your Drawing to be in (Within Mirror Lab) by pressing the first tile/option (Besides the Angle tile) and you can choose from a wide range and zoom in and out, and do all kinds of things.


So, All in All, I hope you Enjoyed this Little Tutorial, It was just a Quick Way to Understand how I process my Drawings for Digital Art haha.


Thank you for Viewing!


P.S the Process is the same with any other Drawings haha. This is just Simple Basics – You can Experiment with the rest and get on out Beautiful Pictures, I haven’t explored all the possibilities yet, I usually stick on one for a while and then end up finding something new haha.


Alright – Have at It! Goodbye!


Tutorial By: Mario Arseneault


p.s If you wish to make a Donation, You can do so Here: paypal.me/MarioArseneault 

A Simple tutorial on How I do my Drawings and put them to Digital Art

Leave a Reply

